What A Day

nbraun.jpgI jumped out of bed at 5:15 am and scurried to get ready and be at our group meeting by 5:30. Carrying my shoes and breakfast in hand I ran down the hall… and I was late. When I got there I received DC Metro Church (Pastor David Stine’s Church) flyers and was sent off to the subway to pass them out.

I greeted hundreds of local DCers with an eager smile and “good morning,” as they faced the hustle and bustle on their way to work. One by one I saw sternly focused faces break and smile back at me, I knew that was the power of God. It was at this point only 6:30 in the morning and I was experiencing the love of Christ on total stranger’s faces – what an awesome experience. We finished passing out all our flyers, concluding our first mission by 9am and were off to the next.

My group went to help build the local church. DC Metro was in desperate need of expanding and organizing their office space. Their office is currently located in a one room basement and while it is a very nice basement, it is a little bit cramped. In attempt to maximize all the available space we had to clear out A LOT of boxes. We sorted and sorted and sorted through stuff, moving most of it to storage and junking the rest. At the end of the day we had created a second office space that was multi – functional as a study, storage space, work area, and the laundry room.

The real blessing came when I saw DC Metro’s staff filled with joy and anticipation about their office expansion and the potential it brought for church growth.

Today I didn’t get to experience any ground shaking miracles, but I did get to see God’s glory in the small things. It is so awesome to just be here and to be part of God’s vision for Washington DC. I am excited for the things God has planned for this city, and I am even more excited that I was able to be a part of it.

Nathalie Braun

~ by Celebration Missions on November 29, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
