Love the Children

Colossians 3:14
And regardless of whatever else you put on, wear love. It’s your basic, all-purpose garment. Never be without it.

I read this passage of scripture this morning before breakfast and it just reminded me of our days here with the Costa Rican children and how it may not seem to us that we are doing a whole lot but we are – we are loving them which is so important.

Most of the children here don’t receive love in their homes so by us just blowing bubbles with them, playing jump rope, coloring pictures, and hugging them, they receive so much – they receive the love of Christ.

Pastor Spencer of 6:8 Ministries mentioned something in our chapel time last night that really remained with me. He said that he’s certain that most of the children we played with will lie in bed at night and think about how fun it was to play with us gringos (us Americans) and that is something that just makes me smile.

The pictures that I colored with the kids will hang in their rooms and they will always think about the people that came here to play with them and show them love. It’s truly amazing how something so small could mean so much to them.

And for me personally, I will look at the pictures that little Kimberly colored for me, remember how I played hangman and tic-tac-toe with Brayon and Ariel, and how I swung little Wagner around in the air, and I will always smile knowing that for just a few days here on earth I may have touched their lives for the better.

Shannon Routzahn

~ by Celebration Missions on May 25, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
