Clinging to God, first day in Costa Rica!

Milbrey Whitham

Milbrey Whitham

Wow, God what a place you have set before us. As your words says, nothing can separate us from the love of God. Costa Rica simply put for me would be God’s country. It is complete beauty beyond belief. These people have hearts and they have yearning souls for what God has given us a chance to bring to their country. The way they live here in Costa Rica, us in the United States would never understand, but they are able to make the most truly of what they  have. The community is just beautiful, each individual brought their own uniqueness to what we saw today. I am in awe of the people here. God has alone given them their lives, and shouldn’t that be enough; Shouldn’t having our hearts full of the Lord be enough?

Today began by a quick walk through the local area by 6:8 ministries to a city grocery store. Those who were coming in and out of the store were children, mothers, fathers, pregnant teens, each person different and they each probably faced a different hardship continually day to day. But how they shined the brightest smiles as though they have no worries in life. I found the first challenge as dying to our own selves, and to be truly grateful for all the things we have. We should die to our flesh completely so that we can take up our cross and walk with the Lord.

In the midst of what today showed, I met a young six year old, turning seven on April 9th, who from this day forward I will never forget. Jose Antonio was nothing less than a complete testimony of the miracles God has to offer. During his birth (in their home), Jose’s umbilical chord was cut by a dirty rusty knife. Immediately he was bore with infection, spreading from his respiratory system on to his brain, impairing him to be handicapped for the rest of his life. Through constant prayer and strong faith, Jose can now walk, something doctors told him would never be possible. The next step is his voice, again which doctors believe he will never be able to talk. When I set my eyes on Jose, I truly began to understand the depth of breaking my heart for what breaks the Lord’s heart. This young boy deserves a chance a life, merely a sinner to us, he deserves alot more then I have received. When I leaned over to give Jose a hug, God completely molded my heart to Jose’s. The young child grasped onto me and I held him and literally wasn’t able to let go and he laid his head right on my chest. His mother, nor 6:8 ministries had ever seen him respond to anyone the way he was.

100_0203
I believe this young boy is going to have a testimony to God’s true love story for us. Everyone, including myself, was amazed at the instant bond we formed. My prayer from this day forward is that I will never treat situations the same. I am so undeserving of the life I have, and someone with persevering strength as Jose’s deserves so much more then he has been given. When I think about that clinging grip Jose gave me, shouldn’t we be clinging to the Lord’s love like that? He is never going to let us go, but I never want loose that grip I have on the Father almighty.  Jose’s story hasn’t ended, this is only the beginning of the rest of what God has in store for him:)

~ by Celebration Missions on March 17, 2009.

10 Responses to “Clinging to God, first day in Costa Rica!”

  1. Wow Milbrey! I am so excited to see how much the Lord is working on your heart in just one day! I am lifting you all up in prayer! God is going to do amazing things for Jose! I am going to keep him in my prayers! Stay safe and keep updating! Acts 20:24 However, I consider my life worth nothing to me, if only I may finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me- the task of testifying to the gospel of God’s grace! Keep running the race and showing God’s love to all the people there! Love you!!

  2. Milbrey, how inspiring your words and reflections are to me. It was so nice to meet all of your team in Orlando. I’m thinking of each of you and praying for your safe trip. “I can do all things thru Christ who strengthens me.” Miss Mary Yackel

  3. Milbrey I am so proud of you. YOu have brought me to tears and I am truly touched with your words.

    I love and miss you.

    Mom

  4. This is amazing Milbrey! The fact that you have grown and have been stretching yourself so much is incredible! I pray that God will continue to break and melt your heart. I love you & can’t wait to hear all of your stories when you get back! love, Jessie 🙂

  5. Milbrey I don’t even know what to say! I am so proud of you and that was just the first day!! You have already touched someone’s heart and God is going to keep using you in such a big way in Costa. You are in my prayers and I can’t wait to see what else happens! Love you!!
    Donna

  6. Whoa. That is amazing Milbrey. Gods moving in that place, and thats just amazing. Wow. I dont even know what to say, this story left me speechless. But God bless him and you, and everyone there.
    Love u, and miss u..Stay strong with faith!

  7. my beautiful milbs i am just so floored by how you are allowing God to use you. i am praying for you personally, the team and jose antonio. i am eager to hear all about what God is doing. savor the moment and the time you get to spend on the mission field and don’t let a single soul pass you by. loves loves and be steadfast!

  8. Great story. Be safe and best of luck. Love you Brittney and Laura. I’m very proud to share your love, warmth, and spirit with the Costa Ricans.
    P.S. Don’t drink the water!

  9. Milbrey-
    Get em girl! It is so amazing to hear about all that has happened! I am SO proud of you!

    Jordan

  10. Awesome, Milbrey! I know just how you feel. GO GOD!!

    PJW

Leave a Reply

 
