Agreeing to Walk

Celebration costa Neal KapurComing on this trip  I was hopeful to hear what God was calling me to do with my life.   I did hear from God but not what I expected.  As I experienced this trip I was blown away how the staff members of 6:8 ministries daily picked up their crosses and carried out the Lord’s work.  There are so many needs here in Alajuelita and I am such a task oriented person that I would easily be overwhelmed by them.  I would want to solve each and everyone of them as fast as possible.

Then I realized that is how I am with “my calling”.  I am waiting for some task to receive from God, as if God is going to send me a memo listing each task he expects me to do and then I could  plan out my calling.  Instead,  I feel as though God is telling to stop waiting for my Jesus memo, to slow down and walk.   God does not want us to execute commands.  He does not expect us to hear from him and then go out on our own to accomplish the given task.  I felt God saying “you and I are going to do this together, and I am going to do most of the work so just walk with me.  Stop worrying about the next steps in life and take a few steps with me today”.  I was reminded of my 5 year old son, when we plan a trip we have to be careful not to mention it to him until right before we leave, otherwise he will be so anxisous to leave that he won’t stop asking us about it.  That’s how I have been with  God constantly asking when are you going to tell me, am I ready, is this it..?  In Amos 3:3 it says, “Do two walk togehter unless they have agreed to do so?”  This is what I have agreed to do with God, to stop waitng and start walking.

~ by Celebration Missions on May 25, 2009.

2 Responses to “Agreeing to Walk”

  1. Neal, I am so proud of you and can’t wait to have you home. I’m excited to hear how God used your group and this trip to fulfill His mission. I love you!

  2. That is so awesome… I am so glad my family and I got the chance to meet with the Church launch in St. Augustine… I think it is great that you were a part of the new Celebration St. Augustine… Proud of you for going on this trip and Can’t wait to see and hear What God is going to show you and where he is going to take you in your walk with him…. It is an amazing feel ing to just go out on faith and follow him wherever he leads you and not question things…. Blessings to you always, Shellie

Leave a Reply

 
