Zambia College Life: God is big enough

Missions Blog 002-resizedHey everyone! We just got back to the base last night, the trip was amazing! God worked so much! What’s really been on my heart while I have been here is God’s sovereignty. Before the trip, I was a little nervous and thought I wasn’t prepared. That feeling escalated once we got to the village. I felt inferior to a lot of other people and my sense of worth for the trip started to fade. Then a song by Casting Crowns started playing in my head, “When I’m weak You make me strong, when I’m blind You shine your light on me, and I’ll never get by living on my own ability.” What in the world made me think that God wasn’t big enough to work through me and fill the spaces where I felt weak? As Christians we live by faith, not by sight, so even though I couldn’t see God equipping me, I had to have faith and know that His grace is sufficient. The village we visited had never been reached before, we were the first missionaries to ever come to them. We did door-to-door ministry and also had night-time meetings just about every night. I was so nervous, my mind went blank and I couldn’t think of anything to say. And that’s when God stepped in. He spoke through me and knew the words that the people needed to hear. The results were astounding. So many people gave their lives to Christ and received healing. I have never seen God on such a big scale before. There are so many things I could talk about, but it’s all really surreal right now. But what I can say is that everything I experienced will be with me forever: the people I met, the miracles we all saw, and most of all, the new and stronger faith that has been added to me.

-Donna Matthews

~ by Celebration Missions on June 13, 2009.

8 Responses to “Zambia College Life: God is big enough”

  1. I know that God has huge plans to use you in awesome ways! I’ve been praying for you guys every day. Miss you!

  2. Donna!!! You are wise beyond your years. After reading your blog I am so excited of all the things that God is revealing to you. It’s so encouraging to hear the way God worked through you when you felt weak and gave you the strength to do the very thing he called you to do on this trip. That’s when God’s glory and power is revealed =) I can’t wait to hear more stories and I can’t wait to see you when you get back to the states. I love and miss you da da da donna!!!!! haha xoxoxox

  3. i am just so proud of you donna… look at the amazing beautiful god driven talented women you are and have become. i bet deb is dancing he way around watching you.. i love you and cannot wait to see you!
    mibs<3

  4. i see you figured out how to upload your picture! haha…wow girl i can honestly say that you have grown tremindously over the past year with all that you have experienced. i am so excited to hear all about what god did to you because you are forever changed and that’s something worth yelling from the roof tops!

  5. wow matthew, thats amazing! im so happy for you and caant wait to see you…and hear all the details of what God did for you and through you because I know he used you amazingly! i miss you like crazay and dont think im nutz when u get my txts and voice mails. haha i love you matthew!!!!! and so does jesus, but u alrede know we both do 🙂

  6. oh Donna. You were more than prepared to go on this trip! God knew you were going since before you were born! How awesome that you touched so many lives and God used you in such astounding ways. I am so proud! I cant wait to hear all about it! Love you!!!

  7. WOW! What an incredible experience . . . to see, feel, witness God using you in amazing, mind-blowing ways! Those times where God uses you in big ways are building blocks for all the things He wants to do in you and thru you : ) Love you Girl, Welcome Home!!

  8. Go Firestarters!!!

Leave a Reply

 
