Sept 4th, 2009 happenings….

Picture 324Sept 4th, 2009- The day started out at    3:30am in Orlando. With very little sleep and with exhaustion kicking in, we had to strap up all of our gear and  hop on a flight to Atlanta which was not soo bad. After a 2 hour layover in Atlanta we finally started on our way to Costa. Once we landed in Costa everyones attitudes changed from tired and exhausted to strengthened and determined. We landed with a purpose, to go and spread the Lord’s word. The minute we got to the 6:8 ministries house the Lord openned my eyes and showed me the basis of what the church should be. Nothing fancy, just a place of pure worship. No pews, no band, no fancy tv screens, just awesome people of God learning and worshipping the Lord in one place that has been stripped down of what we Americans are use to. As we went out into the village, immediately we saw the need for Jesus. Since this was my first time doing anything like this I started to try to prepare myself physically,
 mentally, and spiritually. As we went through the town of Juan Pablo, I was introduced to so many things that l had heard about but have never actually experienced, for instance, the poverty and the brokenness. This made me think of how blessed I was but at the same time how spoiled and unappreciative of certain things I was. The whole time going from house to house I kept seeing the love of Christ and I didn’t realize it but one of the guys on the trip said “This is what Jesus did, He went amongst the people and loved them and told them the good news”. The love I saw in the kids faces when we did as little as give them a piece of gum was the same love I saw in our team when we went out to different houses and prayed for different needs. The same God that is in the US is the same God that is in Costa Rica and He has shown us that time after time. I am so thankful to be part of a team that the Lord has hand picked to do His work here in Alajuelita. All
 the Glory, Honor, and Praise be to God our Father.

~ by Celebration Missions on September 6, 2009.

One Response to “Sept 4th, 2009 happenings….”

  1. I’m so proud of you hun! I’ve been praying for you.. I can’t wait to see you when you get back..
    I love you!
    Anna

Leave a Reply

 
