Lazano sauce and ranch dressing

My first day back in Costa Rica was a heavy day.  Before arriving we had learned that a family that I had met on my previous trip suffered a staggering travesty.  It came to light that the innoicence of an 8-year-old girl was taken by her 34-year-old uncle.  Shortly after landing we went to the home of this devastated family to pray.  In that time and space my only thought was what do I have to offer?  What can I give to ease the pain? er family.  But I am humbly reminded it’s not about me.  John 3:30 “He must become greater and greater, I must become less and less.” The truth is I have nothing to offer but in Christ I have EVERYTHING to give.  He is the God of healing and the Prince of Peace!!  With more of Him and less of me His love can flow to this family and to all the families I come in contact with.  It doesn’t matter if we speak different languages, LOVE is universal!  And when there is more God and Less me something amazing happens: “By surrendering yourself totally to God’s purposes, He will bring you the most pleasure in this life and the next. (Francis Chan “Crazy Love”)  This is exactly what happened to me today.  My sponsor child Giancarlos Manuel and his Mother came to get his school clothes.  He was suprised to see me.  As I hugged him and met his Mother for the first time I was overwhelmed with the goodness of God.  His Mother told me numerous times how much they appreciated everything yet I felt like I was the one that needed to give thanks.  When I chose to surrender everything, time, money, comfort to come here I was giving up me, and adding more Him.  I was able to spend much of the day enjoying the company of my Cosa Rican family who showed ME love.  Kinda like Lazano sauce and ranch dressing which sounds strange but is the perfect combination and according to Dave with 6:8 Ministries the only way to eat beans and rice.

Trisha Griffin

~ by Celebration Missions on January 8, 2010.

One Response to “Lazano sauce and ranch dressing”

  1. That’s beautiful Trisha. Your sacrifice is producing much fruit. Praying for yall.

    Love,

    Kassie

Leave a Reply

 
