Costa Rica Sub30 Team: God is Breathtaking

WOW! What an amazing two days on the ground it has been here in Costa Rica. We have seen so many amazing things happen in the short time we have been here. During our first prayer walk one of the houses we went to was of a beautiful women name Maria. She practiced witchcraft for many years but recently came into a relationship with Christ. Prior to arriving Davo informed us that she is a diabetic and has many sores on her foot. He asked if there were any students studying health on the team and I raised my hand, he then asked if I would change the dressings on her foot when we arrived at her house, of course I jumped at the opportunity. When we arrived she invited me into her one room home. After changing her dressings and praying over her I looked into her eyes and before I could say “Dios te bendiga” (God bless you) she said it to me, I was blow away. It left me absolutely speechless.

Today we visited a young boy named Jose Antonio. He has a neurological infection that has caused developmental issues, delayed walking and minimal speech. After praying over this boy and his two sisters we all gathered around and began playing with the children. As I grabbed Jose Antonio and put him in my lap to take a picture with him he became overly infatuated with my mouth. I sat there, with him on my lap, for over fifteen minutes while he examined the inside of my mouth. Everytime I said “ahhh” he become overwhelmed with excitment and when I closed my mouth he gave me a puzzled look, said “ahhh” and tired to open it to take another look. As the entire team and his family was gathered around laughing at his reactions to the different sounds coming out of my mouth I was overcome with so much joy. There was such a simple and innocent look in his eyes and he was so attracted to what I was doing. God wants the same from us, He wants us to be so attracted to who He is and what he is doing in and around our lives we are completely consumed by it. These past two days in Costa Rica have truly allowed me to see first hand that when you all room for God to leave you speechless He will never fail. Both yesterday and today God has taken my breath away. Fuego 🙂

Remember the cross,

Mackenzie Lemmon

~ by Celebration Missions on March 17, 2010.

6 Responses to “Costa Rica Sub30 Team: God is Breathtaking”

  1. Awesommmmeeeeeee!!!! Praying for the team Mackenzie! May God do more than you could dream through each and every one of you while you’re there. Dream big! Love yous. Off to Greece tomorrow, keep our team in your prayers 🙂

  2. Mack, stoked by your post. Keep being blessed, and allow God to challenge you by being transparent with Him. Lauren and I love and miss you!

  3. YAY! I’m so excited to hear from you and the team about all of the different things you guys are experiencing! Maria and Jose are awesome aren’t they – so stoked you got to meet them and bless them with your presence 🙂 Hope the rest of your week is as awesome as the first 2 days – we’ve been lifting you and the fellow team up in prayer! Love and miss you dearly 🙂

  4. Wow Mackenzie…loving your experience here …. and that now he’s ‘limited speech’ and ‘delayed walking’. Under 2 years ago, it was ‘no speech’ and ‘he may never walk’. I couldnt’ believe it when he was dancing at church last week! Can’t wait to hear more when you get back. -John and Rachel

  5. AWESOME! You are never gonna be the same. God’s definitely moving through you! Love you guys!! PJW

  6. Mackenzie,
    Everything you described truly was God. You have that comfort about you that is so welcoming and safe, its undeniable that what that little girl felt was the touch of our amazing Father through your arms. His love simply pours out of you. All those children want is to be held and to feel the kind of love they have never felt before, and I am so blessed to be one of those people who has been a part of that too. Your big heart can be felt miles away. I pray that He has been showing you things you never thought were possible. I am so proud of you for taking a leap of faith and stepping out of your comfort zone, all for the glory of God. There is no doubt in my mind that Kerri will remember those precious moments with you for the rest of her life. You did what He called you to do, you planted that seed, and you were able to show her what TRUE love is. I will be praying for her, and all of the precious children, that they come to know Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior! I love you, and I’m so blessed to be your sister in Christ. <3<3 Cant wait to hear all about your experience! (this comment is in reference to the post about Kerri)
    -Catherine

Leave a Reply

 
