Costa Rica Sub30 Team: Moments with the Ticos

The Ticos(locals) are some of the most diverse people I have come across. Some Ticos are plauged with sin, addicted to drugs, depressed from loss of loved ones, suffering diseases and injuries, and some desperatley need God so badly but don’t realize it. But then some have the biggest smiles, and even bigger hearts. Some love us no matter what and have fueled my love for Jesus so much. Some of them protect us and some of them play with us, and some of them just want to talk.

It is amazing what God  has done with some of the Ticos. Some of their testimonies have made me realize God’s awesome power and ever lasting forgiveness. We have met women who used to be witches and now are sisters in Christ. We have met men who have sexually abused women and children and now have come to know God and have repented and they too experience his love.

These people have taught me how to serve and how to love a stranger with my whole heart and forgive them no matter what they have done. It also has shown me how to be patient and wait for what God has planned for me. And the friendships I made here will last forever in my heart. God is good.

Now its your turn!

– Michael Maurno

~ by Celebration Missions on March 20, 2010.

2 Responses to “Costa Rica Sub30 Team: Moments with the Ticos”

  1. This makes my heart smile just thinking about the Ticos that changed my life 🙂

  2. Thank you! Anyone who has had the honor of meeting some of the ticos there has had a special blessing from the Father.

Leave a Reply

 
