Costa Rica Sub30 Team: An unspoken kind of love

Today was such a powerful day here in Costa Rica. After lunch we joined the ticos (locals) at the community center just up the road for a game of futbol. The girls played four on four and ended in a tie, but we had so much fun. After the girls game it was time for the boys to play so I headed to the sideline. I didn’t even make it off the field when Kerri, an eight year old tico, leaped into my arms. Earlier in the day we were visiting her neighborhood and I colored with her for about an hour but had only met her that one time so to say the least I was a little taken back. As I went to put her down after a big hug I realized she wasn’t letting go so I carried her to sit down with me and she jumped right on my lap and started talking a mile a minute. I began to smile because I couldn’t understand anything but even with the language barrier I understood that she wanted to sit in my arms and watch the boys play. As we sat there she began taking my arms that were wrapped around her and squeezing them to be tighter, it was then my heart leaped out of my chest and I was literally brought to tears. She simply wanted to be held and feel that willing, no stings attached love. After just one hour of play time earlier in the day she trusted me enough to reach out, starving for some kind of love. I began to wonder what kind of love she knows, what is she used to? So as I sat there squeezing her tightly I began to pray that she never forget the love us gringos have for her and know where our love comes from, God. For over two hours she sat in my lap and even though there was a major language barrier and only a little bit of conversation between the two of us there was one unspoken word that was very clear, love. The love I had for her, the love she had for me, and the love that God has for us both. As we left the community center it hit me that this is the closeness and love that God is willing to give each one of us. When we asked to be squeezed tighter he is willing and when we just want that pure love it is there. Please keep all the tico children in your prayers.

Remember the cross,

Mackenzie Lemmon

~ by Celebration Missions on March 21, 2010.

4 Responses to “Costa Rica Sub30 Team: An unspoken kind of love”

  1. Wow- that’s a beautiful story and picture of God’s love. Thank you for being the hands and feet of Jesus…you are truly doing His work.
    -Kassie

  2. Speechless. Amen!!

  3. Mackenzie,
    Everything you described truly was God. You have that comfort about you that is so welcoming and safe, its undeniable that what that little girl felt was the touch of our amazing Father through your arms. His love simply pours out of you. All those children want is to be held and to feel the kind of love they have never felt before, and I am so blessed to be one of those people who has been a part of that too. Your big heart can be felt miles away. I pray that He has been showing you things you never thought were possible. I am so proud of you for taking a leap of faith and stepping out of your comfort zone, all for the glory of God. There is no doubt in my mind that Kerri will remember those precious moments with you for the rest of her life. You did what He called you to do, you planted that seed, and you were able to show her what TRUE love is. I will be praying for her, and all of the precious children, that they come to know Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior! I love you, and I’m so blessed to be your sister in Christ. <3<3 Cant wait to hear all about your experience!
    -Catherine

  4. Kenz, you just described your niece in full detail the first day we met her in Russia. I know exactly what you mean. I cannot wait to talk to you and see you.
    T

Leave a Reply

 
