Greece Missions Team – Never The Same

A word, a thought, an emotion, a song, even a picture couldn’t explain the story of what took place in Greece. I have experienced joy, hatred, compassion, disgust and sadness all within the same moment. I have seen things you only see in movies (movies that I would never watch to begin with). I have felt a presence of bondage and heaviness I’ve never felt before. I have seen people enslaved to a world and a power that steals their peace. I have seen a divine protection surrounding us in some of the most dangerous of places. I will NEVER be the same.
As I approach the final few hours of this trip, overwhelmed with God’s love, high on some Holy Spirit and bright eyed with Greek coffee, I know I will be taking with me a new desire for Greece. I am moved beyond what I could ever imagine to intercede for this city, this country and these people. I am so inspired by the ministry here and so thankful to have been apart of it. Amongst so many attacks from every angle on this team, God still prevailed! There were seeds planted, not only in Greece, but in each and every one of our hearts I believe. God has taught me patience, endurance, to be still, to wait, to be content in every and all circumstances and to trust in Him with everything. I leave here with a new sense of strength, equipped with the spiritual armor we needed to put on every day, and so much love in my heart for a people so lost in bondage. This is only the beginning. I see that beautiful Russian girl from the brothels breaking free, I see that sweet young girl Joy coming out of her work on the streets, I see the ladies in the Greek Orthodox church watching our every move as we prayed and worshipped in their church WORSHIPPING  with us some day, I see the Holy Spirit at work in this place. Whether I come back to Greece or I stay in Jacksonville, wherever the Lord takes me, my heart will be in Greece. Greece needs our prayers, a ministry we can be apart of every day.

Jill Dykstra

1 Cor 3:6 “I have planted, Apollos watered; but God gave the increase.”

~ by Celebration Missions on March 26, 2010.

2 Responses to “Greece Missions Team – Never The Same”

  1. Awesome Testimony. Looking forward to hearing more.

  2. Jill, I know you are going to do amazing things for Greece, your heart for God’s work is contagious! God bless you. Love u.

Leave a Reply

 
