Hope in Zimbabwe

It’s hard to believe that we are already back to Jax after such an incredible life-changing 2 week trip to Zimbabwe. The team poured all of themselves out working long hrs at medical clinics with Joyce Meyers Ministries so that’s why you haven’t seen any blogs the past two weeks, plus we had no internet access. But now we are ready to share with you the stories of lives changed throughout Zimbabwe!! I’ve honestly never experienced God move in such a HUGE way in all my life. With all the mission trips I’ve been on and countries traveled to, I’ve never seen anything like it. I feel so blessed to have been part of it! And now more than ever I know that I am called to do life in Zimbabwe, God just keeps confirming this.

I’ll just share with you some tidbits of what the team did while in Zimbabwe. Our team of 9 from Celebration Church partnered with a Joyce Meyers Medical team of 22+ doctors/nurses plus 7 from Children’s Cup Swaziland team to bring hope to such an incredible nation in need. And HOPE was the theme throughout. We spent 5 days putting on medical clinics in Tsholotsho (a rural area about 2 hrs from Bulawayo and where one of our Celebration Zimbabwe campuses is) and also in Bulawayo (where many of our campuses are). Each day we administered spiritual and medical need to so many people! The medical clinics consisted of registration, triage, dr appt and wound care, prayer and ministry room, dental, and pharmacy. In Tsholotsho alone over 3 days we saw 2000+ patients and countless miracles. The miracles happening throughout the medical clinics are mind-blowing. EVERY day the blind could see, the lame could walk, the deaf could hear. God should up in a BIG way! In Bulawayo at areas called Newmansford and Sauerstown we saw about 1200+ patients and again countless miracles. Joyce Meyer herself was in awe so the miracles happening through the team! We saw cancer dissolved, cysts disappear, broken arms healed instantly…I could go on and on. Over the week we saw 1900 salvations!! I believe there were 5 witchdoctors who gave their life to Christ, what a huge impact that will have throughout these communities that are so involved in witchcraft!

I personally got to help in wound care area much of the time, which was something I never thought I would do. I washed and vaselined children’s head that had scabies, washed wounds all over the body, saw unimaginable things that have changed me for the better forever. I also spent time praying for people in the ministry room. I prayed over a man whose limbs grew to straighten his back and neck, a man who couldn’t see well and then could read perfectly the book in front of him, a 16 year old boy who had breathing problems his whole life and dreamed of being a preacher in Zimbabwe…God used me I know to help him walk into his calling. I’ve never seen such joy in a smile in my life!

The team was stretched beyond belief, I am so proud of our Celebration Team. We heard praises from Joyce Meyers and Stovall on how our team including the Children’s Cup Swazi team was the best supporting team in the history of all Joyce Meyers medical missions. Now that’s something to praise God about!! It doesn’t come as any surprise to me though. After our week of medical clinics we traveled to Harare (capital of Zimbabwe) to attend the Joyce Meyers “Festival of Life” event where over 200,000 people attended and hope was poured into them. Darlene Zschech and the Hillsong band led worship (WOW!!), Stovall and John Siebling brought amazing day sessions to the people (DOUBLE WOW!!!), and Joyce preached words of encouragement and hope at the night sessions(TRIPLE WOW!!!). Standing in a crowd of over 200,000 Zimbabweans brought me to tears of joy, listening to them praise God with all their hearts was the best reward ever. I know with all of my heart that the nation of Zimbabwe is changed forever, a revival is happening, Zimbabwe WILL be the breadbasket of Africa once again!!

Thank you to my team (Swazi and JMM included), to Ps Mike, Johnnie, Ps Dixon, Ps Chipo, Ps Stovall, Ps Ben, Jenny, Ron, Kassie, the Celebration Zim ladies, Zinty and Lu, Lu 2, Amos, Leonard, Ps Sam….words can’t even express how much you all mean to me.

-Shannon

~ by Celebration Missions on June 9, 2010.

One Response to “Hope in Zimbabwe”

  1. Amazing! Can’t wait to hear every detail.

Leave a Reply

 
