Haiti Medical Missions Day #5

Gloia a Dieu (glory to God in creole) for another AMAZING day in Haiti! God continues to amaze each one of us daily. I still cannot get over how absolutely beautiful this country is. Our base is situated in the mountains, in a remote village. I wake up every morning to huge, majestic mountians, surrounded by the beautiful sunrise. Thank you again God for bringing me here to Haiti in your perfect timing.

Today we saw 122 patients. Our mobile team went to one of the biggest tent cities here in Haiti. They had a great day and said the many children they saw were overjoyed to see them. 

At the clinic I was at, we saw around 60 patients. I saw maybe around 40 of those, and 8 of my patients came to Christ! It is an indescribable feeling to be able to have part in leading someone to have a relationship with God. Another great testimony was from a patient of mine whose family is heavily involved in voodoo. Her father is a voodoo priest. After talking with her about Jesus and sharing my own testimony, she had a better understanding about what being a Christian is; and she accepted Christ! Please keep her, and all of the other beautiful Haitian’s who’ve accepted Jesus into their lives in your prayers. Thank you so much!

It is hard to believe we will be leaving soon. This place, and each person I have met has truly changed me, as most people said they would. I am still astounded at the strength and resiliance these Haitians have. They way they can Praise God with such vigor and sound faithfulness; after having their homes destroyed and living in what most would call “uninhabitable places” leaves me in continual amazement. It makes me appreciate running water, a metal cot, a tin roof over my head, and sweaty clothes on my back all the more. We are SO blessed here in America. I pray that we would all realize how very much we have been blessed with. Sam our team leader shared with us yesterday a conversation he had with one of his Haitian translators. He said that Haiti is a beautiful country, but America is paradise, like heaven on Earth.  That just blew my mind.  Let us never forget how much we have been given! And to whom much is given, much is required to give back.  God bless you all.

Larissa

~ by Celebration Missions on July 21, 2010.

One Response to “Haiti Medical Missions Day #5”

  1. Larissa- I am so excited for the team and all that the Lord has done thru your obedience to serve Him. Know that your impact for the kingdom there will continue even when u r back home. All glory to God!!

Leave a Reply

 
