Northern Ireland Missions Trip – What A Few Days Can Do…

I know we are a little behind on our blog entries but I promise you it was worth it. So much has happened and we still have 2 days to go! We arrived in Amsterdam after travelling for almost 24 hours and essentially went right into 3 hour rehearsals for the Encounter Night at Thousand Hills Church. Exhausted, cold and at our limits, God showed up and the Encounter Night was inspiring and powerful. And we all knew it was God because there was no way after 30 hours that was done under our own power. All the host families were amazing and loved on us like we were their own. We were even treated to some sightseeing the next morning before we had to return to the airport for a return flight to Dublin.

We arrived in Dublin still tired and jetlagged but so happy to be here and ready for the next part of our adventure. The house in Portadown is beautiful! It’s an actual manor. I thought they were kidding when they said it but no. Of course as beautiful as it is, it’s also COLD! Our first day out we travelled to Newcastle and did the Bloody Bridge Trail up a mountain on the seacoast. Even on a cold, overcast and misty day the view was inspiring. You looked around at what God had made and felt His hand in everything.

Today, the start of a new year, we joined with the Ireland team at Celebration Northern Ireland for a night of worship and a word from Phillip Craig. The regular mobile location was not available so we set up in a warehouse building called Drop Inn Ministries. No platform, no heat – no problem. God fell in that place from start to finish and warmed everyone. It was moving and emotional. As Phillip Craig said in his sermon, I felt like I was going to explode out of myself because this was my team and I was made to glorify God!

Can anyone say “after party!” Back at the manor with the missions team and about 20 of our newest, bestest Irish friends. Fellowship and laughter. It just doesn’t get much better than this and I know there couldn’t possibly be a better way to start 2012. – August Hewlett

~ by Celebration Missions on January 1, 2012.

3 Responses to “Northern Ireland Missions Trip – What A Few Days Can Do…”

  1. Hi August,

    I’m so proud of you for being the first one on your team to blog! Way to lead! Thanks for sharing your experiences!

    I was thinking about when YOUR New Year came around. (I asked Siri when it was midnight where you were and she hooked me up.) I can’t wait to see pictures of your trip, especially the manor! 🙂

    Soak it all in! It’ll be over before you know it……
    Elisa

  2. So awesome girl! I love you so much and I can’t wait to skype with you once you are back and hear all about it and see pics! Muah!!

  3. That’s so awesome! I’m so happy for you. Sounds like you are having an amazing time. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

 
