Israel July 2012

My attempt to briefly share moments that touched my heart in Israel…

Atlanta airport, flights delayed to JFK and I get the opportunity to speak with a woman from South Africa who just lost her sister. She was a faith-filled woman with an amazing ministry in South Africa. I was able to bless her with a stack of tracts/books I brought along as well as a prayer to bless her and comfort her during her time of mourning.

Worshipping with Jews for Jesus on streets of Jerusalem…refreshing and anointed to begin our journey through Israel.

Leading a devo about the Mount of Olives, the prophecies fulfilled at the East Gates and the return of Christ just before unknowingly heading right toward that very spot. Amongst all the history in Jerusalem, this was my favorite spot, seeing where history and future meet.

Oh, and riding a camel around Mount of Olives was definitely a spiritual experience as well. 😉

Praying as a team in the upper room…that’s all I have to say about that.

Arriving in Mt Carmel, the moment I waited for since March when God first spoke to me about serving in Israel.  As my spirit welled up inside of me I, after a couple days of eating their amazing falafel, hummus and salads I prayed and fasted for confirmation, direction and just to hear and be still before the Lord. After a rooftop devo, wrapped in the clouds at the top of the sanctuary, the Lord speaks to me. Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart. Ps 37:4. Without writing a book I’ll just say that through a moon, a shooting star, an open Heaven, a vision, a dream, a stone and a word from God, He confirmed over and again the next season of my life. Though I don’t know exactly what that will look like, I know where that looks like, next to an amazing, spirit-filled ministry on Mt Carmel where God’s hand is blessing their obedience and their love for His nation and people.

What the Lord taught me, feet amongst the small crashing waves in the Sea of Galilee, where Jesus pushed the boat offshore to teach the people, was through a vision.  It was a vision of all the people I love, the family I adore and the children I would miss dearly…Jesus was holding them in His right hand and at that moment He told me to leave them and be His disciple. He told me to “get out of the boat”.  

The hardest thing for me sometimes is trusting the Lord with those I love. When I see, feel, experience the love that the Lord so individually loves me with, I am reassured the love that He has for those in my life, a greater love than I could ever give…and that’s Who I will be leaving and entrusting all those people with when God calls me to Israel in this next season of my life.

And that is just a taste of Israel in my eyes. Thank you all for your prayers and support!!

-Jill Dykstra

~ by Celebration Missions on July 10, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
