2012 September Zimbabwe Team Universus -Reggie

Hello friends and family!

What an awesome and incredible trip so far!

I have witnessed the great hospitality of the host Zimbabwe team and feel at home.

The beginning of the trip was a little rocky for me because my heart was focused on my family back home.

What’s incredibly timely is the daily reading – Nehemiah 4. Wanting to learn more about the context of this book, I read the introduction and skimmed the previous chapters, and was lead to a passage of scripture that was so timely to my own life:

Nehemiah 2:12 “Then I arose in the night (2am for the mission), I and a few men with me (my team of 6 total) and I told no one (in my family, in my case) what God had put into my heart to do for Jerusalem (Africa). There was no animal with me but the one on which I rode” <- I didn't have a single dollar on me and barely had enough gas in my car to get to the church.

I have not lacked one single thing since I've been here. In fact I have received more above then what I could have asked or think!

Nehemiah 2:4 "If it pleases the king and if your servant has found favor in your sight, that you send me to Judah (Africa, in my case), to the city of my father's graves, that I may rebuild it."

There are many Celebration campuses here in Zimbabwe. Pastor Dixon preached a timely message titled Against All Odds. My favorite verse of scripture is Exodus 14:14 "The Lord shall fight for you, just stay calm".

The message was reaffirming for me to hear the pastor preach a message on that scripture and others about standing firm.

The land here is richly beautiful!
The people here will give you all they have.
The children are filled with joy for having so little.
The worship is extremely passionate!

Not only does the church here sing the same songs that we sing in the United States, they also sings songs of praise in their native tongue.

This trip is truly revolutionary so far, and we have only scratched the surface on what God has for us.

Much love,
Reggie

~ by Celebration Missions on September 30, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
