St Johns Campus Costa Rica 2012

Day 6

Luke 9: And He sent them out to proclaim the kingdom of God, and to perform healing… they began going among the villages, preaching the gospel, and healing everywhere… give them something to eat… whoever receives this child in my name receives Me; and whoever receives Me receives Him who sent Me; for he who is the least among you, this is the one who is great.

As we come to the end of our time in Alajuelita, what strikes me most are the small miracles that 6:8 Ministries witnesses day after day.  This week, they have taken us along to see and participate in but a glimpse of life here. Watching a mother raising her hands in prayer and praise to God as we delivered groceries to her and her family, going door to door to provide basic medical care and prayer for healing in a barrio where some houses are made of stacks of rubble, providing a weekly lunch sermon to homeless men and seeing 28 rejoin their families,  or starting a Saturday feeding to children in the most dangerous barrio in Alajuelita and seeing the numbers fed grow to over 200 this week.  There is poverty, squalor and osterity all around, yet the people are friendly and smiling.  But what warmed my heart was the hope of the future in the Iglesia Celebracion Alajuelita FUSE youth, who participated in a service day, helping to feed the children, and then cleaning their local park.  With their hearts to serve, they will help change their own community!

This is the daily life of the 6:8 team and the members of Celebracion Alajuelita.  We are but “tourists” in this mission, visiting for a week and going home to our regular life.  I have such respect for the 6:8 team’s commitment and sacrifice!  And I thank them for taking us with them for a glimpse of their journey!  My prayer is that we each find our mission at home, with a renewed sense of purpose, focus and hope from what we’ve seen and participated in in Costa Rica.

But Pastor Miguel’s message this morning truly reflected what God has shown me during this time.  Pastor cautioned against letting fear steal the blessings God has for us (Psalm 34:4).  For years, I have always said “I can’t, not me” to mission trips because of physical limitations. But this time God said “trust me, together we can!” so I signed up.  When anxieties overtook me the day before we left and I wanted to cancel, God said “don’t stop, before you even start; trust me, you only fail if you don’t try”.  So by shear faith I got on the plane, and I would have missed so many blessings if I had not!  And it turns out, I was always right — I couldn’t do it in my own strength, but each day, each ministry activity, I did it with God and my team.  God has shown me again that if I take the step, He will walk it with me!  I encourage everyone to go!

Blessing from Alajuelita, Marty

~ by Celebration Missions on October 21, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
